M.V. Little Gem

Originally named the “Westhead” when built in 1947 by Port Jackson Steamship Co Ltd., the Westhead plied the waters between Palm Beach and Patonga and the Hawkesbury River – serving the “Riverboat Mail Run”.

In later years she was sold and operated on Sydney Harbour as a Charter Boat and was refitted (in keeping with her traditional style) for weddings and social events etc.  She was to become known as the prettiest little ferry on Sydney Harbour.

Williamstown Bay and River Cruises fell prey to her charm and purchased the vessel in March 1994 and she sailed the East coast to Melbourne under her own steam.  Berthed at Gem Pier, Williamstown, this historic little ferry now has a new life in our scenic waters under a new name – the “Little Gem”.

The Little Gem regularly embarks on ½ day cruises along the Yarra and Docklands, and across the bay on full day excursions.  She is also available for private functions.  Join us soon for some of the best views of Melbourne and experience for yourself the romance of a bygone era – simply phone our booking office on 9682 9555.

MV Little Gem

Specifications:

Length: 57 feet
Beam: 18.6 feet
Facilities: 2 toilets, 2 washrooms BBQ hotplates
Capacity: Ideal function capacity 35-75 persons